Senators contingent headline Canada’s World Championship roster

CALGARY – The Ottawa Senators will be well represented when Canada takes part in the upcoming 2022 World Hockey Championship.

Senators forward Drake Batherson and defensemen Thomas Chabot and Nick Holden were named to the team’s 24-man roster released Monday by Hockey Canada.

The Ottawa trio will join Senators head coach DJ Smith, who is Claude Julien’s staff assistant for the tournament, which begins Friday in Tampere and Helsinki, Finland.

The New Jersey Devils also have three players on the roster: forward Dawson Mercer and defensemen Damon Severson and Ryan Graves.

Winnipeg forwards Pierre-Luc Dubois and Adam Lowry, Montreal forward Josh Anderson and New York Islanders center Mathew Barzal are also on the roster.

Anaheim forward Max Comtois is the only player to return from Canada’s championship-winning squad in 2021, although Barzal, Chabot, Dubois and Severson bring previous world championship experience.

Canada will begin its quest for its 28th world championship gold medal against Germany on Friday.

“We are thrilled to announce the 24 players who will wear the Maple Leaf in Finland and take on the challenge of defending last year’s gold medal,” Canada general manager Shane Doan said in a statement. . “Our roster combines the experience of veterans and young talent, as well as a number of players who have played for Canada on the international stage and some who will have their first chance to represent our country.

“We know the whole group is thrilled with this opportunity, and we can’t wait to get back to Finland and compete for another gold medal.”


Forward — Josh Anderson, Burlington, Ont., Montreal (NHL); Mathew Barzal, Coquitlam, BC, New York Islanders (NHL); Drake Batherson, New Minas, NS, Ottawa (NHL); Max Comtois, Longueuil, Que., Anaheim (NHL); Dylan Cozens, Whitehorse, Buffalo (NHL); Pierre-Luc Dubois, Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Que., Winnipeg (NHL); Morgan Geekie, Strathclair, Man., Seattle (NHL); Noah Gregor, Beaumont, Alta., San Jose (NHL); Kent Johnson, Port Moody, BC, Columbus (NHL); Adam Lowry, Calgary, Winnipeg (NHL); Dawson Mercer, Bay Roberts, NL, New Jersey (NHL); Eric O’Dell, Ottawa, Dynamo Moscow (KHL); Nicolas Roy, Amos, Que., Vegas (NHL); Cole Sillinger, Regina, Columbus (NHL);

Defense — Thomas Chabot, Sainte-Marie-de-Beauce, Que., Ottawa (NHL); Ryan Graves, Yarmouth, NS, New Jersey (NHL); Nick Holden, St. Albert, Alta., Ottawa; (NHL); Dysin Mayo, Victoria, Arizona (NHL); Travis Sanheim, Elkhorn, Man., Philadelphia (NHL); Damon Severson, Melville, Sask., New Jersey (NHL); Zach Whitecloud, Brandon, Man., Vegas (NHL).

Goal — Chris Driedger, Winnipeg, Seattle (NHL); Logan Thompson, Calgary, Las Vegas (NHL); Matt Tomkins, Sherwood Park, Alta., Frölunda HC (SHL).

This report from The Canadian Press was first published on May 9, 2022.

Comments are closed.